When Education Kills

image

I’m a Computer Science major who is totally in love with his choice of study. I’d wanted to study Computer Science for years. So, I don’t fall into the category of people who find themselves in a particular field by chance or circumstance. I’m currently in my third year in school. And one thing that I have discovered is that interest, zeal and passion dies.
When we got into school, we were all hyped up – ready to change the world through ICT. Personally, I was in love with application development (even before I got to know the first thing about programming). After my first year, the flame of interest waned a little, owing to stress and lack of motivation. Second year came and I found myself doing some real stuff – programing and web design. Finally! Something worthwhile. Now I’m in third year and the story is quite different.
Before I go on, I’d like to let you know that I love my books. Oh yes, you read right. I’m not the kind of person who doesn’t read. Reading is power. But truth be told, it can only be powerful if the message gets to the recipient and makes the recipient think like the writer. Reading becomes a deadly snare if the intended message of the writer never gets to the reader. He develops a messed-up understanding of everything that the writer intends to say. Reading becomes a total waste of time.
I have a major issue with our educational system. Why do we spend so much time on the abstract and theoretical stuff? Why spend a full semester studying concepts that are absolutely not necessary?
“Well, you’ll use it someday in the future,” they say.
So, as a Computer Science major, I have offered courses on Geography, Workshop Practices, Technical Drawing, etc. Trust me when I say it kills you slowly. But we all got used to the fact that such courses are part of life. We learnt how to develop interest and we survived. Little did we know that tougher days were to come.
Abstract courses became the bane of my existence. I could be in a class and follow the lecturer’s train of thought from start to finish but still doubt in my mind if I really understood what was taught. Now, this is not fear. It’s doubt. Please, note the difference. Doubt is being unsure, fear is being scared. And I leave many classes in doubt.
I remember one time when I was being taught the concept of Lexical Analysis (the first step of compilation in programming). It made so much sense until I actually had to prepare for a test. I saw nothing but abstract jargons that I couldn’t relate to. Well, I wrote the test and started answering a question with, “In a layman’s language..” It was circled with a red pen. Obviously, I was trying to make a complex concept look too simple and practical.
I think we should be told when we apply into institutions: “We want you to think like a box. Just study to pass. That’s the only way to make it here.”
So, the system kills our creativity. We become book worms that have empty heads. Try asking the guy who topped the class last semester to teach the same course to a junior next year.
“It’s been a while I offered the course. I don’t know if I can still remember. Just pray and study hard. GOD will help you pass,” that’ll most probably be the reply that you’ll get. You want to know the blunt truth? He doesn’t know it.
We’re kept too busy to think long enough to create something on our own. Bright minds are subjected to so much pressure that their creative side dies. Now, you can’t fight the system, but you can ensure that it doesn’t kill you. Create, don’t imitate. Live, don’t just survive. Stand out, don’t blend in.
I challenge you. Don’t allow the system kill your creativity. I know many are in love with music, dance, writing, programming, fashion, catering, football, etc. Be passionate and pursue.

I refuse to let this system bring death to me.

9 thoughts on “When Education Kills

I`d like to hear from you! Share your thoughts.

