Sorry I Cheated

I’m sorry I cheated on you
It was a cold night, one that I never wish to remember
The darkness had loomed over me for so long,
And I had no strength to fight any more

I’m sorry I took a second glance
I had only intended to stare,
Never did I mean to step into Jezebel’s lair
And all she had needed was that extra glance, and the victory became hers

I’m sorry I forgot about us
A vow so sacred was broken, all because
I had given in to a fit of passion
The animal within arose, and all that had mattered was pleasure

“For better, for worse,” I had sworn on the altar,
Never knowing that better
Was all that I had set my eyes on
Worse back then looked like a tragedy that was never to come

I’m sorry that I had enjoyed her kisses so much
That I had forgotten that your kiss was like a piece of Heaven that touched
The skin of one so unworthy as me,
Loving and making me clean

Her touch had been calculated,
Intending to bring my walls down
Oh, how my strength had failed me
Strength, that I had foolishly used to replace grace

I’m sorry that I never spoke of my infidelity
Fear held me captive, and had immediately
Striped my back with rods of iron so hot,
Constantly reminding me that I had broken my vows

Four years of love threatened
By one night of illicit trysting
That one night still looms above me,
Telling me that you hate me

But I know better
And that’s why I’m retracing my steps back to the altar
“For better, for worse,” I’ll say once more
And this time, I’ll rely on my strength no more

“It happens so regularly that it’s predictable. The moment I decide to do good, sin is there to trip me up. I truly delight in God’s commands, but it’s pretty obvious that not all of me joins in that delight. Parts of me covertly rebel, and just when I least expect it, they take charge.

I’ve tried everything and nothing helps. I’m at the end of my rope. Is there no one who can do anything for me? Isn’t that the real question?


The answer, thank God, is that Jesus Christ can and does.”
Rom. 7:21-25 [MSG]

10 thoughts on “Sorry I Cheated

  1. this poetic rendition resides in my heart and i as much can connect with most of the metaphors used, i must admit that you deserve any award arising from this engagement of the mental faculty to address the fear and guilt that has crippled most men in the better part of their life, guilt of a monster that we are all a victim of, its nice admitting it and surrendering back to the covenant at the alter, i wish this gets to all men and pray they find the courage as you did to admit to their wife that at some point they were infidel and seek a reunion for lo we should seek but not the wisdom of the world but that of the omniscient book……thanks for sharing brother. i would be writing to you personally to seek your permission to republish this on a self hosted blog…………peace

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Sorry I Cheated | Agada Freeman Daniel

I`d like to hear from you! Share your thoughts.

