Master.

Man with addiction

“I’ll be free one day,” you lie as you slowly approach me. You don’t even believe your words. You feel a tugging from deep within, a voice telling you to turn away from me. I don’t feel the slightest concern that you’ll obey that voice. I know that you were too much of a slave not to obey my instructions.
“Come to me,” I beckon unto you. You can’t help it. My voice seems to penetrate deep into you, hitting the core of your will and drawing you toward me. I have always basked in my ability to make men do what I want them to do. I give a dry laugh as I see you struggle between my voice and His voice. I am winning the battle. I am your master and you’re my slave.
I sense a slight withdrawal and I tighten the hoop around your neck. You are going to bow. The voice within can’t even stop it. I’ve got you exactly where I want you. You come so close to me and I stroke your cheeks. You close your eyes as you hold me in your hands. In that single moment, I see how much you’ve fallen for me. I see how deep you’ve gotten into me. I’m not bothered. I live for this.
I’m your addiction. I lie in wait everyday. Like a trained robber, I watch you closely every single moment, waiting for you to display signs of weakness. And like a fierce lioness, I pounce the very moment you let your guard down. You are in love with the One that dwells within you, the One who speaks whenever you get weak. But I know the exact strings to strum in order to make you move your feet and dance.
You can defeat me in a heartbeat, but you don’t know that. You think I’m strong. I’m not. That’s why I lie in wait like a thief. My weakness makes me hide until you get weak. I never show up when you’re strong. But you don’t know that. The One who dwells inside of you is bigger and stronger than I am. I shudder in fear just at the thought of Him. But you don’t know that. That’s why you still bow to me.
All that matters right now is me. I don’t intend to let you go tonight until you’ve drank yourself to stupor. Fall at my feet, slave! You’re exactly where I want you to be. I smile at your devotion. I am your addiction. I am your master and you’re my slave.
©  Eleazar Maduka, 2017

I`d like to hear from you! Share your thoughts.

