Order! In the House of God.

Worship

I have always been amazed at the seeming love that people have for disorder. Maybe it’s just Nigerians or Africans. Maybe it’s the entire human race. Right now, I don’t really want to place the “disorder tag” on anybody. I really do not want to. Let’s assume that humans just have a certain pull towards disorder. This actually makes sense if we consider the meaning of the word entropy. According to Wikitionary.org, entropy is the tendency of a system that is left to itself to descend into chaos. If I am permitted to view humans as individual systems, then I believe this heavily applies to them.


Why else would people just cause confusion if they are left uncontrolled? In Nigeria, the streets lights have not been able to curb man’s love for disorder. On countless occasions, I have witnessed people totally disregard street lights. They must have been thinking that the machines wouldn’t have been able to relate with the stress, troubles and numerous issues in their lives. Of course, that would be the only reason why a street light would flag the red colour on the very day that they were to have a very important meeting. I try so hard to understand why people act the way that they do. I still can’t come up with reasonable answers.
Today was a remarkable day. The General Overseer of The Redeemed Christian Church of God (RCCG), Pastor Enoch A. Adeboye (fondly called Daddy G.O. by his many children) was in Minna, Niger State. He was invited to the celebration of the 20th year anniversary of a provincial parish. I was there, alongside many members of my campus fellowship, The Redeemed Christian Fellowship (RCF). Like many other programs where the General Overseers of the biggest churches in the country attend, the auditorium was filled up, many hours to the start of the program. Coming two hours before the commencement of the program wouldn’t have gotten you a seat in the auditorium, trust me.
We weren’t so lucky to get seats inside the auditorium, my family and I. We had to settle for seats in the overflow. It turned out to be an eventful, interesting service for me. What first struck me was how desperate people were. I have attended countless programs where big ministers ministered. Desperation is real, folks. I see it every time. People are hungry. People are poor. People are in need of changes in their lives. People are sick. People are broken-hearted. The story of the man with palsy who had desperate friends came to my mind. I believe that they had been desperate. They wanted to see their friend healed at that very moment. They let him down through the roof. In my own choice of words, their faith was large. (Luke 5:18-20).
The second thing I noticed was the natural inclination of man toward disorder. Seats in the auditorium became almost as precious as gold. We have a culture in our society where we save seats for people. We see this clearly in lecture halls; books, pens and even handkerchiefs will sit while people stand. Sadly, we also see it in church. Imagine what will be going on in the minds of people who will see empty seats and be told that there are no seats. I know what goes on in my mind when that happens in a lecture hall or public gathering.
Permit me to sidetrack a little and say that disobedience is strongly related to disorder. Have you seen where the sign clearly said “Join the Queue” and people still disobeyed? The result is disorder. When the judge shouts, “Order!” he actually expects that the room will become quiet. This won’t happen if the people were disobedient, would it? No way.
So, let’s go back to my story. The ushers were awesome today. Those guys really work hard in meetings like this one. People are difficult to manage. Desperation plus disobedience is an awful combination, and I saw both in action today. At some point, all of the seats really became occupied in the auditorium. The ushers began to tell the people at the door to join the overflow. Guess what? Over 50% refused. They would argue and beg and even try to force their way through, pushing the ushers aside. One baba said that he would prefer to stand inside. The usher said no. He refused. He argued and argued. Truth is that too many people were standing at the back of the auditorium already. There wasn’t a sufficient flow of air. People would come out of the auditorium drenched with sweat.
I saw the desperation. I also saw the disobedience. It’s amazing how this always happen in services where people come to actually meet God. Instructions are meant to be obeyed. If you feel that the people interacting with you are not right, appeal to someone higher. Trying to have your way will always result in disorder. Folks, disorder isn’t good — it’s bad.
I wanted to shout, “Order in God’s house!” I won’t be able to write all that I witnessed today. Like I said earlier, it was an eventful day. During the Praise/Worship, there were moments I stopped singing or clapping, not because I didn’t know the songs but because I was in shock at what I was seeing.
We need a change in our society. It will start from the church, folks. Stop disobeying ushers. Obey traffic lights. Respect queues. Everyone has something to attend to, too. Order can be achieved in our society and our churches. And I know it begins with me.
Adiòs!


© Eleazar Maduka, 2017

2 thoughts on “Order! In the House of God.

  1. People should know that God is not limited by location and anointing is not made impotent by distance the connection is from the heart and with the sight.
    O yes let there be obedience and the return of order everywhere.

    Like

I`d like to hear from you! Share your thoughts.

